Strategy input requested regarding new-subscriber imports

This isn’t a problem with phpList per se, but a problem with my strategy using it. I didn’t see a more relevant category than Support. This is sort of long and involved/detailed so I will thank in advance any who take the time to read and respond!

I’m a writer and I have two public lists that I maintain for my main pen name (i.e., my real name). One is a general newsletter that I send whenever I want (but usually only once or twice a month, just not on any kind of schedule). The other is a new-releases-only list. Both of these lists are open to anyone to subscribe.

In addition to the public lists, I use one-time private lists to follow up with people who have downloaded a free book. The way this works is that I offer a book for free using BookFunnel and people who download a copy can opt-in at that time to my general newsletter list. This is usually done during date-limited promotions (“bundles”) with other books from other writers. At the end of the promotion, I download a CSV file from BookFunnel that lists everyone who requested a book copy and opted-in to my list. I import that CSV into phpList and send a one-time message to thank people for downloading the book, ask for a review, and prompt them regarding their subscription on my newsletter.

When I first did this, I only imported the CSV into a private list and, in that one-time mail to that list, I provided a link to go and subscribe to my general newsletter or new-releases-only list. Not many did, but those who did were clearly very engaged and good people to have on my list. But this is asking people who have already opted in and confirmed their opt-in to opt-in again… not a very good experience for them and a way for me to throw away a lot of subscribers.