[Solved] Processbounces yields 404

Hi - although this is my first post, I have been using phplist for 10 years, and was active on the ‘old’ forums… that being said, this has me stumped:

Lately when trying to ‘process bounces’, the page hangs for quite a while, and eventually turns a 404.

• Once this happens, the entire phplist install is unusable for 3-5 minutes; any pages requested do the same thing - hangs in a state of loading before eventually turning a 404

• this is a relatively new issue, bounces had been working until the last couple of months

• I have upgraded phplist to latest version, but problem persists

• I am with bluehost, and had upgraded to Cloud Sites hosting. Bounces had been working prior to this hosting upgrade.

I have been going back and forth with bluehost for 2 weeks and they have no sign of memory limit being pushed / crashing.

Has anyone experienced anything similar, or have any tips?

Thanks

@Metalmike Do you know how many bounces are in the phplist database? It sounds like the bounces process might be failing. The process of counting consecutive bounces for each subscriber can be quite intensive and might be timing-out.

If you view bounces you can see how many are returned, and delete some or all.

@duncanc Thank you for answering!

• I have 5621 processed bounces, and 424 unidentified bounces in the database.
  • My ‘bounces’ mailbox currently has 848 returned emails to be processed.

If I delete all bounces from the database, am I going to lose the user counts? (number of bounces per user)
I have it set to mark users ‘unconfirmed’ if they generate 3 bounces in a row.

If you delete some bounces then there might be an effect on the “consecutive bounces” processing. It just depends on which campaigns you have sent to which subscribers.

phplist doesn’t handle this perfectly, so the simplest thing to do is to delete bounces more than two months old. But having over 5000 bounces is very likely to cause a problem for phplist.