Solution for unsubcribe from a single list idea

Hi all:

I am no coder by any means but I know enough to screw things up.

The current solution for unsubscribing to one list instead of ALL right now is not working for me. How does this sound?

1. Come up with an attribute that will provide a link as follows:

https://www.mysite.com/phplist/?p=singleunsubscribe&listid=3&uid=be900cdb992cc040b67993595f2819f6&utm_source=phplist17&utm_medium=email&utm_content=HTML&utm_campaign=TEST

1. Run this querystring through a SQL statement that will do the following:

Go to the pyli_listuser record for this uid and update the listid from 3 (in this case) to 300

I am assuming most people do not have over 100 lists so by adding 00 to the end of the original list id will show that that person WAS on that list but now does not receive emails

Just my 2 cents. Please LMK any downside to this. If this sounds good I would LOVE to see it in an update so I do not need to add hacks to my code

Thanks!

Something like this:

http://www.mysite.com/test2.php?uid=be900cdb992cc040b67993595f2819f6&listid=1

$gOriginalList = $_GET[‘listid’];
$gListID .= $_GET[‘listid’];
$gListID .= ‘00’;
$gUserID = $_GET[‘uid’];

$stmt = mysqli_prepare($link, “
UPDATE plyi_listuser
INNER JOIN plyi_user_user ON plyi_listuser.userid = plyi_user_user.id
SET plyi_listuser.listid = ?
WHERE plyi_user_user.uniqid=? AND plyi_listuser.listid = ?
”);

mysqli_stmt_bind_param($stmt, ‘sss’, $gListID, $gUserID,$gOriginalList);

mysqli_stmt_execute($stmt);
mysqli_stmt_close($stmt);

Any ideas anyone???

I’m not exactly sure what you are asking. The idea of removing a subscriber from a list is feasible, but your suggested implementation of multiplying the list number by 100 is a bit weird.

What do you mean by this? The recommended approach is to get people to use their preferences to select the lists they want to belong to.

“I’m not exactly sure what you are asking. The idea of removing a