Domain or subdomain for abuse and postmaster emails?

This is my first time using PHPList, and I am working through some of the tips here to help cover the basics for deliverability. Right off the bat I have a question, but first I need to explain my setup.

• I have a special domain set up for my PHPList server, which I’ll call mailserver.com.
  • Each of my business enterprises is set up with its own subdomain of mailserver.com. For example, Jason’s Sprockets is set up as a PHPList installation at js.mailserver.com.
  • The “from” email is different for each subdomain - for Jason’s Sprockets, it might be info@jasonssprockets.com.

So, my question. The page I linked to says I need to have abuse@mydomain and postmaster@mydomain set up as valid emails. My question is, what is “mydomain” in this case? Is it mailserver.com, js.mailserver.com, or jasonssprockets.com?

This also applies, I guess, to reverse DNS (which I understand only dimly). Which domain do I need to be worrying about for that?

1 Like

Not exactly a phpList issue as this can apply to any use of emailing, bulk or otherwise.

To the best of my knowledge, the abuse@ and postmaster@ need to be the same as the domain that is doing the actual sending.

So, using your example above, I would expect emails sent from info@ jasonssprockets.com to have email aliases set to abuse (@) jasonssprockets.com and postmaster (@) jasonssprockets.com

Thanks for the reply. So to clarify what we mean by “from,” that would be the “message_envelope” address (the return-path)? Or the reply-to email specified in the list settings?

It seems to me that “the domain doing the actual sending” would be mailserver.com, where PHPList is installed. Am I wrong?

When I’ve set these email addresses up, I seem to recall I used the same domain as I used to actually send the email, ie: the one shown in the Sender email in the resulting email.
I moved on to DKIM and SPF but this Wiki may help?

Who’s right? Whichever method works.