Changing the default install location

Hello, i have some php experience and i wanted to change the default install location from /lists to another name. Primarily because web sniffers look for default install folder names for open source projects and so i would like to change the folder name.

I did change the pageroot variable in the config extended file but i was still getting this

The pageroot in your config does not match the current locationCheck your config file

I found the code in the admin/index.php file where you check for location REQUEST_URI on line 714 so i ran some tests like so at the top of the admin/php file

$pageroot = "/mycustomename";

echo "stringpos- ".strpos(getenv('REQUEST_URI'), $pageroot.'/admin');
echo "<br>";
echo "pagerootadmin- ".$pageroot.'/admin'; 
echo "<br>";
echo "server request uri- ".$_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'];
echo "<br>";
echo "get env uri- ".getenv('REQUEST_URI');
exit;

which returns the following

stringpos- 0
pagerootadmin- /mycustomname/admin
server request uri- /mycustomname/admin/
get env uri- /mycustomname/admin/

so according to this it should work. So it must be another file that is triggering this error.

I also found the code in the init.php file on line 661 where you check to see if $pageroot is empty (meaning we installed phplist in our public_html (which i have and its public_html/mycustomname)

It seems i am in between a rock and a hard place here. It looks like (from the code) that if we install this script in our public_html then we have no choice but to name the folder lists. I dont see a way that i can meet both sets of code expectations, have it in the public_html and call it something else.

If i leave the $pageroot blank for public_html install then the script will set the value to lists, however if i set the value of $pageroot to my custom name, it wont find it.

Also i noticed that there are some hard coded images and other items in the files that must use “lists” as the directory.