Campaign processing timing out

Hello, I am new to Phplist so I am probably missing something very obvious, but processing my campaigns only seems to work in batches of 1 minute.
For example trying to send 17 messages with a throttle of 12 secs each (ie. 5per min) takes 4 resumes to complete the job. Changing the throttle size changes the number of emails that go out in one minute before it stops processing.
I have tried setting various batch sizes and have even tried auto throttling, but the result is always the same 1 minute processing time…

this example is 3rd process report of a campaign with batch and throttle of 0/16200/12
Started
Sending in batches of 10000 messages
This batch will be 9990 emails, because in the last 16200 seconds 10 emails were sent
Processing has started,
One campaign to process.
Looking for subscribers
Found them: 7 to process
Size of HTML email: 21Kb
Processed 6 out of 7 subscribers (remember 10 processed in earlier process)
Script stage: 5
5 messages sent in 61.04 seconds (294 msgs/hr) (still leaves 2 more to process)

A related question. If I leave the browser window open, shouldn’t I see an ongoing status report on the screen? All I see is the spinning “p” and stop button.

Hope someone can help me,
Chulann

To send a maximum of 5 messages per minute manually, your config/config.php file should include the following settings:

define ("MANUALLY_PROCESS_QUEUE",1);

# batch processing
# if you are on a shared host, it will probably be appreciated if you don't send
# out loads of emails in one go. To do this, you can configure batch processing.
# Please note, the following two values can be overridden by your ISP by using
# a server wide configuration. So if you notice these values to be different
# in reality, that may be the case

# max messages to process
# if there are multiple messages in the queue, set a maximum to work on
define('MAX_PROCESS_MESSAGE',999);