Bulk moving subscribers to a new list

Hi again!

Clotilde from Chocolate & Zucchini – http://chocolateandzucchini.com

So I have subscribers who want my newsletter in French, and others who want it in English.

I used to have a single list and deal with a language attribute, but after a conversation with Anna and Sam I realized it would be a lot easier to have one list for the English speakers, and another one for the French speakers. Then each of them can have the subscribe page, confirmation emails, autoresponders, etc. in the correct language. (I’ve been doing it wrong for 10+ years! Ah well. :wink:

I set up the new subscribe page on my French site so new subscribers will be added to the French mailing list, but I also wanted to batch-move all my current French-language subscribers to this new list.

I went into the database and simply updated the phplist_listuser records to set the new list number for users who have the value “french” in their language preference, like so:

update phplist_listuser t1, phplist_user_user_attribute t2 
set t1.listid = 3 {my new french list)
where t1.userid = t2.userid 
and t2.attributeid = 5 {language attribute}
and t2.value = 4; {value: French}

Things look fine so far as I can tell, but since I’m not 100% familiar with the DB schema, I wanted to get your opinion: does this look kosher to you? Is the phplist_listuser table the only place where the list subscription is referenced? Or is there a table dependency I missed?

I will be grateful for your thoughts! And of course, if there’s an easy, non-SQL-query way to do that in the interface, I’ll know for next time. ^^

Many thanks,
Clotilde.

I don’t know how many lists you have, but if some of the French speaking members are already on more than one list, you could be asking for trouble.
I suggest you add into your WHERE

AND t1.listid = 'LIST ID YOU'RE MOVING FROM'

Thanks a lot Chris! I appreciate your pointing this out.