Questions About Invite Plugin - GDPR

First, I’ve read in detail about the GDPR, and have concluded that it is absolutely NOT necessary for me (and likely most of you) to ask people in the EU to re-opt in to my email list–they did that already when they signed up.

I was a corporate and criminal paralegal for 7 years, and am confident with my assessment of the GDPR’s requirements, and other software platforms have also concluded this as well.

That said, I would like to know exactly what this GDPR Plugin does? I want to comply with obvious GDPR requirements, like allowing list members to be able to download their info, but I don’t intend to email my list to opt in again.

Please explain exactly what will happen if I activate this plugin. Will it automatically make my list inactive until people opt back in? In my case, someone who isn’t going to do that, should I activate it at all? Does it have other features that I do need, or is it only to get this consent?

A better explanation would be appreciated, as I’ve read all of your published content on this and it does not make it clear the full scope of this plugin.

@keeenone There is an ‘Invite’ plugin, but there is no GDPR plugin. Various GDPR-related features are built into phpList. Documentation about the invite plugin exists on it’s page in the phpList wiki and in the readme file within its repository on GitHub.

Thank you for that link. It seems like it may be good to add this info to your page, as it would not have occurred to me to look for it on a software developer’s forum.

I read about the GDPR links that would be added to the sign up pages, but after installing the 3.3.3 update I don’t see any new links on my subscriber pages, or, when I, acting as a user on my email list, click on a link to update my subscription preferences, I don’t see a way to download all of my personal data.